By Editors

As regulars at JLF, we’ve been witnessing literary genius year after year at the festival, and from the first release looks of it, this year promises to be as grand, if not grander. The crew behind the world’s largest free literary festival announced the first line up of 77 authors confirmed to participate in the 2015 edition. Like every year, the festival will take place over the last weekend of January, from the 21st to the 25th, in Diggi Palace, Jaipur.

This edition of the festival {its eighth} is gearing up to play host to Nobel Laureate Sir V.S Naipaul, Man Booker Prize recipient Eleanor Catton, novelist Hanif Kureishi, and celebrated American travel writer Paul Theroux, along with some of India’s best, including Hindi poet Kedarnath Singh, Man Booker Prize nominee Neel Mukherjee, best-selling novelist Amish Tripathi, author and translator Arshia Sattar, and universally loved German children’s author Cornelia Funke.

As for themes and areas of focus, the 2015 festival will pay attention to a number of themes running parallel across sessions and panel discussions. To narrow it down and give you some direction, there will be a strong emphasis on poetry, as well as celebrating South Asia through all genres of writing, and a special strand of sessions showcasing and celebrating the literature of the Seven Sister States of North-East India. Taking a cue from last years theme of Crime and Punishment’s popularity, this festival will look at writing associated with the Seven Deadly Sins, as well as continuing a second strand of the Women Uninterrupted Series.

Once again, staying true its country of origin, the festival will champion Indian language literature with the great Hindi writer Vinod Kumar Shukla, Bangla writer Sangeeta Bandopadhyay, Marathi Dalit woman writer Urmila Pawar, and the Girish Karnad.

Here, a list of the 77 authors confirmed to be participating. Stay tuned for as and when they add participating authors. Yes, we’ll tell you! As for registrations, they are officially open for the 2015 edition, click here to score yourself a place, and to keep up with festival scheduling and happenings.

1.    Adam LeBor

2.    Ahmed Rashid

3.    Akhil Sharma

4.    Alberto Manguel

5.    Alexander Kozlov

6.    Alexis Wright

7.    Ali Cobby Eckerman

8.    Amish Tripathi

9.    Amrita Tripathi

10.  Anatole Lieven

11.  Arshia Sattar

12.  Arvind Krishna Mehrotra

13.  Ashwin Sanghi

14.  Bettany Hughes

15.  Charles Glass

16.  Chetan Bhagat

17.  Christina Lamb

18.  Christos Tsiolkas

19.  Clare Wright

20.  Cornelia Funke

21.  Damon Galgut

22.  Daud Ali

23.  Deepti Kapoor

24.  Devdutt Pattanaik

25.  Eleanor Catton

26.  Elizabeth Gilbert

27.  Esther David

28.  Fady Joudah

29.  Gilbert King

30.  Girish Karnad

31.  Hanif Kureishi

32.  Helon Habila

33.  Jorie Graham

34.  Kalyan Ray

35.  Kate Summerscale

36.  Kedarnath Singh

37.  Kevin Powers

38.  Laila Lalami

39.  Linda Colley

40.  Mahua Manjhi

41.  Maria Chaudhuri

42.  Mark Gevisser

43.  Mark Haddon

44.  Meena Kandasamy

45.  Mihir Sharma

46.  Molly Aitken

47.  Narayana Murthy

48.  Nasreen Munni Kabir

49.  Nassim Nicholas Taleb

50.  Navtej Sarna

51.  Neel Mukherjee

52.  Nicholson Baker

53.  Paul Theroux

54.  Peter Bergen

55.  Peter Frankopan

56.  Peter M. Sacks

57.  Pradyot Bikram Manikya Deb Burman

58.  Prashant Jha

59.  Raj Kamal Jha

60.  Rajdeep Sardesai

61.  Rakshanda Jalil

62.  Rohan Murty

63.  Sadaf Saaz Siddiqi

64.  Sahar Delijani

65.  Salima Hashmi

66.  Sangeeta Bandyopadhyay

67.  Sheldon Pollock

68.  Simon Armitage

69.  Somy Roy

70.  Sudha Murthy

71.  Sushama Deshpande

72.  Tom Holland

73.  Tshering Tashi

74.  Urmila Pawar

75.  V.S. Naipaul

76.  Vijay Seshadri

77.  Vinod Kumar Shukla